Message sent from:

Hertford Federation Governing Board

The Full Governing Board (FGB) meets once or twice  a term.   At these meetings the governing body carries out its three core functions, as identified by the Department for Education in the Governance Handbook:

  • ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff;
  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure money is well spent.

The governing board regularly reviews its way of working. Some of its work is delegated to committees but other than the headteacher, no delegation of work to individual governors has been made.    From 3.10.22 there are now three main committees:  the Quality of Education Committee (remit) Chair Tom Freeman; the Finance, Premises. Health and Safety and Personnel Committee (FPHSP) (remit) Chair Jenny Perrin and the Safeguarding and Inclusion Committee (remit) Chair Rachel Attwell.    Under the terms of the teachers' pay policy a pay committee may also sit.    

Jenny Perrin is the  Chair of Governors of the Hertford Federation.  Her contact details are jennyperrin@hertfordjun.brighton-hove.sch.uk

Minutes of the Hertford Federation Governing Board and committees, providing they are not confidential, will be shown here once they have been approved by the Board at the following meeting.  Just click on the date of the meeting.  The minutes include the names of governors present at the meeting.  Other minutes and some agenda papers may also be available if they are not confidential.  Please address such requests to the clerk to governors at office@hertfordjun.brighton-hove.sch.uk .    

Meetings 2023/24

Full governing board:  11th September 2023; 4th October 2023 (Confidential meeting attended by: RA RD TF JHtay MM BO JPI JPS ; 4th December 2023; 30th January 2024; 21st March 2024; 13th May 2024; 8th July 2024

FPP committee: 16th October 2023; 11th or 13th March 2024; 7th May 2024

Quality of Education Committee: 27th September 2023 attended by AP TF and MM ; 10th January 2024; summer TBA

Safeguarding and Inclusion committee: 16th October 2023; others TBA

Meetings  2022/23

Full governing board: 12th September 2022 ,  3rd October 2022,  16th January 2023, 21st March 2023, 15th May 2023 and 10th July 2023.

FPP Committee: 5th October 2022   27th February 2023 , 9th May 2023 (inquorate meeting attended by JPI and ZM), and 22nd May 2023 attended by ZM JF BO JPI.

Quality of Education Committee: 19th October 2022, attended by TF MM BO RD;  4th January 2023 attended by RD TF MM BO GK;  26th April 2023 attended by RD TF MM and BO

Safeguarding and Inclusion Committee:  17th November 2022, attended by RA J Htay, JPI and JPS, 27th February 2023 attended by RA J Htay, JPS and SH;  4th July 2023 attended by RA JHtay JPS and SH

Meetings  2021/22 :

Full governing board: 16th September 20212nd December 2021, 28th March 2022, 17th May 2022 and 11th July 2022   Also 17th March 2022, attended by JF ZM BO RA JP TF TB JH

Finance Premises and Personnel Committee: 18th October 2021, 19th January 2022, 14th March 2022 and 9th May 2022

Quality of Education Committee: 2nd February 2022, 16th March 2022  4th May 2022 and 22nd June 2022

Meetings 2020/21       

Full governing board: 21st September 2020  10th December 2020  29th March 2021   18th May 2021  12th July 2021

Finance Premises and Personnel committee: 25th September 2020   8th February 2021   11th May 2021  22nd June 2021

Meetings  2019/20

Full governing body: 12th September 2019   26th November 2019   23rd January 2020   17th March 2020 Governors attended: RA, TB, CC, SL, DL, ZM, JP, RR, MW 

14th May 2020   3rd June 2020   14th July 2020 

24th August 2020 -  Governors attended: TB TH DL ZM JP RR MW

Finance Committee: 2nd October 2019  15th January 2020   Governors attended: RA JP ZM.  The meeting was inquorate.

Meetings 2018/19

Full governing body 11th September 2018  28th November 2018     24th January 2019   4th April 2019  4th June 2019  17th July 2019

Finance committee 17th December 2018  5th March 2019  10th May 2019





Hit enter to search